- ( Total Topics: 0 )
So a couple of weeks ago, I was alerted that one of my logos has been ripped off and is being sold on yet ANOTHER ripoff site, this time, located in Poland.
This is the first time (that I know of) that one of my logos has been jacked.
Here's the ripoff site:
http://projektlogo.com/
Here's the ripoff site's IP info:
http://www.ipchecking.com/?ip=http%3A%2F%2Fprojektlogo.com%2Findex.php&check=Lookup
Here's the ripoff site's web host:
http://netart.pl/en/kontakt.html
Here's my logo:
http://logopond.com/gallery/detail/142839
Here's the pirated version:
http://projektlogo.com/images/60.jpg
One of Muhammad Ali Effendy's logos, Jumpinx, has also been jacked by these bastards:
His logo:
http://logopond.com/gallery/detail/143568
The ripoff version:
http://projektlogo.com/images/59.jpg
SO, I promptly did some research, and found some really good info on AIGA:
http://www.aiga.org/interior.aspx?pageid=3079&id=9550
Basically, this says that a good first step is to find out who the web host of the offending site is, and send them an official take down letter. This letter informs them that they have unlawfully copyrighted works published on a hosted site, and that they AND the offending website are both in violation of copyright laws, and that the copyrighted works must be pulled immediately.
There is a handy template for this letter on that AIGA page. If you've been ripped off too, copy & paste, edit with your own information, provide as many links as possible proving your original copyright, and send it off.
NOW...this particular ripoff site is in Poland, and my first letter, which I sent in English, went unanswered. So my next step is to translate the letter to Polish and send it off. If that goes unanswered, the next step is to send an official Cease & Desist letter to ALL parties, and see what happens.
Check this ripoff site to see if any of your logos are there. If so, email that take down letter to the web host IMMEDIATELY. They may not respond to just one person, but they'll take notice if a bunch of us come kicking in their e-door. STRENGTH IN NUMBERS.
malicho said on Feb. 15 '12
atomicvibe said on Feb. 15 '12
balic said on Feb. 15 '12
malicho said on Feb. 15 '12
Atomicvibe said on Mar. 06 '12
Please login/register to make a comment, registration is easy, signup

balic said on Feb. 15 '12